Posted by: icingonthepond | January 14, 2014

Culver rink closing ending an era

News of the Culver City Ice Arena’s pending closing next month hit many of us who have played hockey at the facility over the years hard.

For all of its quirks (I once had a stick blade break off in the boards, which I  swear also swallowed up pucks from time to time), the rink is one of the few remaining links to the early days of hockey in Southern California.

Opened in 1962, it not only served as the LA Kings’ practice rink for many years, but it was part of GLAMHA (Greater Los Angeles Minor Hockey Association), a league that I write about in the upcoming hockey book, Palm Trees and Frozen Ponds. It surprises many to discover that organized youth hockey existed in the state more than 50 years ago, but it did. And though the community was small, it was strong and often thriving. It produced NHL players, college stars and even an Olympic hockey player.

CCIA also was home of the Marina City Sharks, among other youth hockey clubs, an organization that produced several hockey pros, including Anaheim Ducks draft pick Brian Salcido and Matt Ford.

And no one who has ever played there will forget its hockey shop owners, Hans and Barbara Matzel.

A former rink owner told me several years back that this day would come. Not specifically, but that in general single-sheet rinks couldn’t make in California because operating costs have gotten too high. Multi-sheet facilities would be the only way for the numbers to make sense. The San Jose Sharks and Anaheim Ducks have partially proven that theory wrong by taking over operation — and in some cases outright owning — several single-sheet rinks and running them from a centralized office.

I can’t count the number of games of pickup hockey I’ve played at lunchtime at Culver City over the years. I don’t remember the games specifically, though I remember dreading walking up the creaky stairs to the locker room in my gear some times. What I cherish are the long-lasting friendships I’ve made there.

I realize there are other newer rinks with better amenities around, and those are enjoyable to play at. But they can’t replace 52 years of history. At its highest levels, the game is nothing without its history — ever hear of the Stanley Cup? That tie to the history of the game is one reason the Winter Classic and Heritage Classic outdoor games are so popular.

The NHL is bringing the outdoor hockey experience to Dodger Stadium in less than two weeks; it’s unfortunate that one of the region’s indoor rinks will be readying to lock its doors at the same time.

I don’t know if I speak for any other hockey players, but it feels as if part of me is about to be lost.

Responses

  1. Oh no!!! Another place of my memories gone. I played for the Whittier La Habra Polar Kings from 1969 to, oh, probably 1978 or so, and I remember going to play Culver City. We were in SCAHA (Southern California Amateur Hockey Association), and I thought Culver was in LAHA (Los Angeles Hockey Assocation), but I could be remembering that part wrong. What I do remember are the orange uniforms and the interlocking CC on the sweater crest. I was always intimidated going in there because it was a bigger barn than the Whittier La Habra Polar Palace (last I check a retail mall, tho even that was years ago), and the teams were always so good. The butterflies were always worse because you had to sit on the 405 in traffic hoping to get to the game on time after school, thinking about that team waiting in the other locker room for you. Alas, at least the memories last. Thanks for the post.

  2. Chris, have you heard any news recently regarding the Kings’ rumored plans to build a facility in Torrance, or the Ducks’ desire to build in the Irvine Great Park?

  3. I have not, but that would be fantastic if it happened. I would think it would be multi-sheet as you need that to have any hope of breaking even these days due to real estate and power costs. I will ask around!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

